Knitting wha?

I haven’t knitted a stitch in two weeks.  I have been elbow deep in a refresh of our basement suite for Airbnb, and it’s been kinda intense.  I think I may have even toned some muscles in the effort. Non-couch spare time activities can really pack a punch.  I have gone from exhaustion to productivity master in that short time.

We’ve learned a little while plodding away but there are a few things that stood out and I’d recommend to someone else trying to quickly set up an apartment.

Painting the ceiling – Instantly the space looked brighter and more fresh. We did this step first and used Sico paint for the ceiling and walls and it’s amazing stuff.  The primer is built in, and we didn’t even need a second coat. Fast and beautiful (…just like me. j/k).

Vinyl tile stickers  – I bought mine from the TheWallStickerComp on Etsy, but there are other options online. I was able to cover up some hideous tiles that looked like they were from a 1983 clearance bin and it was an instant improvement. A renter’s dream. They won’t fool anyone close up, but they do make an eye sore less noticeable.

Amazon Prime – I placed so many order for home goods and they arrived quickly and at a good price. Buying online saved me so much time. I could buy appliances during my lunch hour and trash bins between meetings.  [If you like this sort of thing you may like the 9-5 discount offered at shoeme.ca as well. ;-)]

It also helps to have parents who want to roll up their sleeves and have some expertise, so I am extremely thankful for their generous assistance.

When I get back to normal speed I’ll post progress on the Dewdrop baby blanket I have plans to cast on.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Knitting wha?

Leave a Reply

