Elvish


The elf hat requested by a friend is now completed. I love how the texture turned out.  The random but complementary stripes reminded me of the Mindless Knitting, TV Watching, Scrap User-Upper Afghan blanket project from MaggieLoux on Ravelry I have admired for years. Since my scrap pile would not amount to a blanket I am thinking I might try pillow covers with the same technique. Knitting stripes in the round with multiple yarn types and sizes forced me to embrace imperfection. Even with efforts to prevent the jog at the join the stripes came out a bit lopsided, but I think the overlapping textures soften that imperfection to be less noticeable.

I just started a lace baby blanket called Mountain Chickadee which I find very beautiful. I’m only a few repeats in and I would recommend this pattern to anyone who wants a beginner lace pattern, or someone like me who loves the instant gratification of fast projects.   I’ve been knitting while watching Happy Valley on Netflix, which is my newest favourite. The synergy of a good knitting project and good TV creates something greater than it’s parts and I’ve been lost in a positive feedback loop all weekend.

Happy Spring!

Leave a Reply

