Violet is 2! 

I started knitting this cotton and linen dress for my namesake almost two years ago. I can’t believe  Violet is two already! My cousin and her daughter Violet live far enough away that I don’t get to see them as often as I want to but I am thankful for the visits we got to have during the first few years and cherish the memories.

  
 I knitted part of this dress while visiting Violet and her mom, but knitted the straps too short. I think frustration kept me from tearing them back and the dress was abandoned until now. Last night I watched two tutorial videos on YouTube on crochet for beginners and then attempted two scallops that I added a row of double crochet on top of to add some length to the arm straps. It’s passable, right?

I can’t remember the pattern I was working from, but when I do I will add the link [Elsie Sundress by Jane Richmond]. The trim on this dress was my first attempt at crochet. It can be done! As the British say, “I’m chuffed.”

Violet is of course way too big for this dress now, but at least I get to remember her when this  was a possibility.

I love you Connie, Eric and Violet!

7 thoughts on “Violet is 2! 

  1. Maemi

    Such a cute knitted linen dress ❤ The crocheted improvisation suits it quite well. It's hard to believe that it's your first try at crochet (so neat!).

    Reply
  2. Sue Jensen

    Such a cute little dress. I give you a ‘hats off’ for how far you’ve come in the knitting field. Now your eagerness to learn crochet. LOOK you did it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

