Yard work, and the hot dry summer

It’s too hot to knit without air conditioning. It’s also too short a life to spend the sunny summer inside, especially when you live in a rainforest. If I have spare time I spend it in the yard taking care of the new plants we planted in late May. The side flower garden still needs some time to fill in, but the back yard potted veggies are looking very green and have grown so much. We’ve had more sunshine this June than we get during whole summers. The whole country is dry this year, and it looks like it may stay that way for a time.

My partner and I have been cleaning debris from the side of our rented house since we moved in a year and a half ago. Just when I think I have found the last puzzling discarded item another piece of something comes to the surface. This weekend it was an electrical box, and some plastic cutlery. It makes gardening a bit dangerous as rusty nails and glass shards can still be found on occasion. The last renters used the side of the house as their own personal dumping ground.  I should have taken pictures from the start as it would have been a dramatic “before & after”. There will be more pictures soon, but I thought I would share these iPhone snaps that my boyfriend took this weekend as we watered.

flower2  fern

rock1

flower1

It is exciting to plan for next year even while this year’s plants are still growing. Next year I will be able to build on the perennial plants already growing.  My garden goal is exemplified by my neighbours yard. You should see it! The house looks like a hobbit home, and the garden is so lush and beautiful.  Our neighbour also raises bee pollinators as part of a UBC study. Her garden is really for the bees, but I enjoy it also. I will get some pictures after the forest fire smoke clears.

Speaking of forest fire smoke, I am suddenly aware of how lucky we are to breath clear fresh air on most days. The smoke is so thick right now that I find it irritates my throat and eyes. You can look directly at the sun. It’s a bright deep orange sphere in a dirty sky. It’s impossible to see past the end of the block. I realized clean air is something I have taken for granted all this time, and I miss being able to take a big inhale of air that feels cleansing and unlaboured.

Reading this blog by my friend Nao helped me feel better about things lately. Some great pictures in this post, and some comforting words: Honey Grove

Leave a Reply

