Christmas in April

This little update is so late, it might be considered early.

I like to knit for Christmas, but this year (uh, make that last year) I didn’t knit as much as I had wanted to. I still have a list of projects I haven’t given up hope on, but I feel like I may never catch up at this point. We spent the holiday in New Orleans, and nobody needs a knitted anything there. In fact it was so humid I turned on the A/C at some points. I’ve grown accustomed to the temperate climate of Vancouver, and weather that is not cool and temperate seems extreme. I have about a ten degree window of comfort. So, I was too busy to be productive before Christmas, and after Christmas I fought a virus that seemed intent to take me down for months. I guess I will have to make up for winter’s lack of knitting this spring. Just another reason to re-watch episodes of Outlander like the obsessed fan I am.

Here is a peak at our Christmas in N’awlins:

IMG_8943

St Louis Cathedral

IMG_8910

French Quarter

IMG_8929

French Quarter home in Christmas finery

The Mississippi

The Mississippi

IMG_9062

Lafayette Cememtary No. 1

There is much more where this came from, but I liked these snaps of the city to share with you.

The stand out gift I knitted for Christmas was a cowl pattern I purchased at Knit City 2014. The Riverbank cowl was a fun and interesting knit. The beautiful hand dyed yarn is from Sweet Fibre. I knitted the cowl in Bruin. This was the first time I bought a pattern and the yarn I needed at the same time. I usually buy yarn and hope to find a pattern for it down the line or vice versa. The pattern and yarn worked so well together. This is probably the best strategy to avoid the storage problem that my yarn stash has become. I wish the pictures of the project were better, but light is hard to find in the winter months here – the cloud cover steals the light that may get through before the 3:30 pm sunset – so my project pictures suffered.

IMG_8851

IMG_8850

Look at that beautiful yarn varigation!

I have two gifts I will send sometime this year as belated presents. I’m knitting “Claire’s Capelet” inspired by Outlander (told you I was obsessed!) and this Lucy Hat. The Lucy Hat short rows gave me some pause so I haven’t gotten past the brim. Reading absolutely every note on Ravelry forthis pattern about how to make it happen didn’t get me anywhere, so if you have some insight please message me on Ravelry.

I think my next post will be a list of WIPs to help get me motivated.

Leave a Reply

