It’s 50% Sleeves

For the most part, Summer Days was a well written pattern and a fun project to knit. I love making cardigans – especially for kids. I get so much satisfaction knitting something like this.  The more I knit the more I enjoy the projects with a finer gauge, and therefor a lighter yarn. The designer has other cute patterns for kids I would like to eventually try. Like this knitted maxi dress for tots.

I did have a problem with one section of the pattern though.  If I hadn’t made a big deal about temper tantrums, I might have had one. For the most part it is really well written and I was really enjoying it, but the underarm shaping threw me.  I would read it, and re-read it again, hoping for the light to go off in my head. Still not comprehending what to do, I made coffee, and went to a quiet rom with a notepad.  Then I let it sit for a day or two, hoping that new eyes would bring new understanding. Ravelry was no help as sections of patterns are not indexed for comments, and comments in general are truncated so if someone had insight to pass along it was stacked under hundreds of other comments that had nothing to do with my issue.  I tried whatever I could, but finally I just decided to do the next section without the written word instructions as my guide.  That strategy was part success, and part failure, but I learned enough to get back in the game.

This is what that part of the pattern sounded like to me:

Pattern: When you get to the intersection turn left

Me: Ok. …my left or your left?

Pattern: My left. But if it’s a red light, your left. And if it’s a green light my right.

Me: Uh…. ok?

Pattern: At the next intersection if it’s red, it’s my right.

Me: So my left?

Pattern: Yes. Until the end of that street, then we’ll use my left. This rule works for streets and roads, but alleys and back streets you reverse everything.

Me: The left and the rights?

Pattern: Yes, but my left and rights.

It read exactly like the Abbott and Costello’s “Whose on first?” comedy monologue. You can guess who I am in in that scenario. The pattern had charts and a description, but the double meaning of some words and the constant rule changing for a small amount of variables scrambled my brain. All that business added time to the project, which was still ultimately a quick knit.

sweater1

I love the puffed sleeves. They really get to me. They remind me of being a kid for some reason, but I had no idea why until today. These kind of vague ideas always intrigue, so I sat down and really thought about it, and for some reason Anne of Green Gables entered my mind. I loved that show when I was young. I did a google image search, and found Anne in all sorts of sweaters that I now know were my original inspiration to knit. Those P.E.I sand dunes and pretty grass fields seemed so idyllic. I didn’t see any puff sleeves, but part of me imagines Matilda scoffing at the wasted excess material. Maybe I imagined that, or maybe it’s there somewhere. One of my favourite knitting blogs posts pictures of the designer in her knits while walking along the sea shore, and I now realize where I get my affinity from. When I first decided to knit this pattern it was because of the unique sleeve construction. Normally a short sleeved sweater is a bit of a clothing oxymoron to me. So despite this sweater having a small window of usefulness, it makes up for it in cute factor, and for me, nostalgia.

buttons

The buttons are polished wood. At first I wasn’t sure about them, but now that they are sewed on I think the domed shape gives the sweater a vintage vibe. I also modified the pattern, which included adding a top button (you can see the spacing doesn’t take the top button into account), and pulled the collar trim in to come up to the edges. I’m happy I made those modifications, but I think these details also add more of a vintage look.

I hope this little girl who loves blue will like her sweater.

One thought on “It’s 50% Sleeves

Leave a Reply

