Variety

I had a 2 hour phone call with one of my best friends yesterday. I think that might be a record for me. I’m not a good phone chatter. Who wants to hear about my list of daily errands and the random thoughts my reading list evokes? A good friend feigns interest, but a great friend gets excited about such things. My friend that I was chatting with is also the most enthusiastic about my blog. She pointed out that my posts don’t always have to be about knitting. I think when I first discussed a blog she imagined I would be posting the kind of stories I tell at parties (I have many tales that end with me embarrassing myself, and these go over well when people are in the mood to laugh) or writing long pieces about my social views, which is something else I tend to not shut up about too. Little did she know that she’d be subjected to post after post of baby sweater crafts, and knitted bags.

The same day we chatted I had had 3 cups of coffee, and skipped lunch by accident. It was 3:00pm when the coffee shakes hit, and I needed to make something quickly. I also didn’t want to turn on the stove because we were in the middle of a heat wave, and I didn’t want to be roasted to death in my own home. What I made is something that I now consider comfort food, and is my gluten-free home-cooked equivalent of fast food: something that takes no time, and is mostly carbs. The same good friend makes a rice noodle and peanut sauce dish that is divine. This lunch is not divine, but it’s really good for the 5 minutes it takes to make.

20130722-165055.jpg

20130722-165017.jpg

I added some rice noodles to a noodle bowl, and covered them with boiling water, which I poured from my electric kettle. The rest of the ingredients I added required no cooking. Of course more could be added to make a really great noodle dish, but this is a bare minimum recipe you can add to, and once again did not require an oven or stovetop.

20130722-165107.jpg

Once the noodles were cooked and drained (4 minutes later) I added:
1/8 cup roasted peanuts
1/4 cup chopped green onion
1 Tbs chili infused oil
a few drops of sesame oil
1 tsp toasted sesame seeds
1/2 tsp sugar
generous pinch of salt – unless you used salted peanuts.
1/2 lime, juice of

You can tweak the sweet, salty, and tart ratios to suit your tastes, and every ingredient in the list can be substituted. I sometimes just use sesame oil with a tsp of chili garlic sauce, and if I didn’t have peanuts I would have added a tablespoon of chunky peanut butter to the lime juice and infused oil. Also, soy sauce would be a key component to this mix, but as some one who avoids gluten I tend to sometimes leave it out, even when my gluten free soy sauce is on hand, just out of habit. If you add a tsp or so of soy sauce, omit the pinch of salt. I had prepared all the ingredients before the 4 minute waiting time for the noodles was up, so I added some chopped jalapeño as well.

20130722-165043.jpg

And, there you have it, the fastest peanut noodle dish you’ll ever make.

2 thoughts on “Variety

  1. Kaya

    You’re making me hungry!!! More, please!! And yes, cooking in the summer can get unbearably hot. Good to know alternatives to using the oven.
    p.s. it didn’t even feel like two hours ❤ Cuz that's how much fun we have!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

