Ker-ker ker-choo Two

It’s hot out east!

I was warned, but after ten years in a temporal rainforest I have lost all adaption to temperature variance. How do you get your hair not to frizz out? What is the point of make-up if it sweats off your face? How does all of North America (minus Vancouver) know the answer to these questions but me? When I lived in hotter climates before I didn’t do make-up, or hair. How do former sun worshipping thirty-somethings get to their offices and not look like they hiked up a mountain with gorillas? The metro itself is a sauna. I think it may just be me with these difficulties though, every Montrealer on the street tends to look fabulous.

I’m not really complaining, as I do love the sunshine. If it’s sunny in Vancouver you have to drop whatever it was you planned, if it wasn’t an outside activity, and get your butt outdoors to enjoy the weather while you can. You actually start craving vitamin D like candy. There is so much sun here, and I feel like I am somehow wasting it. I can ignore the weather and stay in if I want, or just trust that whatever outdoor activity I planned will work out because the chances of it raining are slim. It’s the reverse mentality I have become accustomed to.

So, in this new summer weather I am learning about, I doubt I’ll want to knit any more sweaters. It’s just not what you want to do on a 32 degree celsius (that’s 90 degrees fahrenheit for my American associates) day. Cotton market bags still seem do-able, and I finished my first this week.

Bag_A

I learned a few new techniques from this first tote pattern. This market bag was knit on straight needles, sewn up the sides, with an I-cord handle joined with kitchener stitch. The pattern dictated that the sides be joined with crocheting, but I decided that I wouldn’t be that adventurous. Instead I folded the bag in half, threaded the stitches onto the needle by alternating a stitch from the front and the back, then knitting two stitches together (K2), and binding off those stitches as I went. It worked well, in my opinion. Kitchener stitch was a fun technique to learn, but if you know what to look for in the picture, you can see that I need some practice. I want to try using circular needles for the body of the next bag, which will eliminate the seaming step altogether. Wider handles would be nice, but the I-cord element is still a favourite, and so I may have to graft patterns to come up with the hybrid tote of my imagination.

Last night I also decided to take out the sewing machine again. I am not sure why. It was one of those evenings when the air was heavy, and no amount of trying to be still made you sweat less. I decided to distract myself with a small project. I had a couple vintage/vintage-looking kerchiefs that I attached some trim to, and voilà! a head-kerchief. C’est magnifique! Or at least I felt a little magnifiqe for sewing something that did not result in a thread ball inside the sewing machine. These actually work as intended, and that is progress my friends.

kerchiefs

Speaking of thread balls, I am still untangling the hank of yarn from Americos. Beginner Knitters, when some one offers to take a hank of yarn and make it into a skein for you, always say yes. Always. Even if your boyfriend is sick of yarn store browsing, and tapping his toes while staring at you with puppy dog eyes that implore you to please, please leave. So despite being super excited to knit up that marvelous hank into the gorgeousness it promises to be, I think once it is wound up in a ball I will put it away. I need to not look at it for awhile. Sorry my Becky, it’s a produce/market bag for you.

Have a wonderfully sunny day!

One thought on “Ker-ker ker-choo Two

  1. Sue

    Well…are you destined to knit or destined to write? That is the question I pose for you today after your entertaining entry. I am always amused at your simple and yet humorous approach to explain your projects and/or everyday issues. Oh, and yes put the tangled skein in the back of the closet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

