Knitting is for masochists

I think knitting is often associated with peaceful and quiet evenings. Perhaps curled up on a couch by a fire, or next to a rain streamed window. It can be, but often I find myself sighing in a kind of frustrated and angry way. Sometimes knitting is trying to untangle 400 knots of string with a couple slippery sticks, ten thumbs, and poor lighting. All with the aim to create something visually appealing and practically functional. Sometimes I wonder why I knit at all.

I had written a draft of how this vest came together that explained all the areas of the pattern I had problems with, and why I value a well written explanation, but now that it is over, it doesn’t seem so bad. The long hours put into knitting can make mistakes feel catastrophic. Much like failing to save a document that took you 30 hours to complete. Starting again is disheartening, disappointing, anger inducing, but essential to completing the project. Again, now that it is done, it seems more like a great metaphor for life than so much to cry over.

The actual owl pattern of the vest is incredibly easy, but the arm and neck area was anxiety producing. There are so many weaved in ends that I worry the kid wearing this may sneeze and become a pom-pom. But, here it is, fingers crossed:

fanlarge

This is a 9-12 month size, and I used 1.5 skeins of the yarn purchased. I can use the leftovers in a striped version of the same vest later on. After blocking I think that the gauge leans closer to 12 months.

On the same day I was having some problems with this pattern I also did some swatching for the next project and discovered that the doubled sport weight yarn would be way too thick for the summer sweater I had in mind using the Red Rosie pattern. So, after some chocolates from Godiva my boyfriend bought for me and a bit of pouting, I did some searching for something else that would work for the Betty-inspired garment and found a pattern I think works better. I’ll be doing a light weight summer dress that can be used a tunic top as the baby grows and I’ll be following some modification for the tummy-warmer vest pattern that include an eyelet patterned skirt. The modifications used within this photo were the real inspiration. I’m just working the eyelets now, and for the most part, peacefully.

Leave a Reply

